Welcome to ISCA!

Award and Grant Opportunities

Henrichs and Thompson Memorial Grants

Each year the families of Gary Henrichs and John Thompson award grants in their memory for $600 to outstanding elementary, middle school and high school counseling programs in

Iowa. To be eligible for one of these awards, the applicant must be a certified school counselor and a member of ISCA at the time of nomination. Counselors are invited to self-nominate but may be nominated by anyone. The applications will be reviewed by a panel of appointed ISCA members and members of the Henrichs or Thompson families.

Contact Clare Struck with questions or to e-mail applications.

Henrichs or Thompson application deadline: Oct. 11, 2013.

Download the Heinrichs Grant form here: Henrichs Award form.doc

Download the Thompson Grant form here: Thompson Award Form.doc

Iowa SchoolCounselor of the Year 

(Elementary, Middle/Jr. High, High School, and Multilevel)

The purpose of the four school counselor of the year awards is to recognize an elementary, middle/jr. high, high school, and multilevel (preK-12) counselor for outstanding service and achievement.

Eligibility for consideration

The nominee must be currently employed as a full-time counselor in an

Iowa school and have completed three consecutive years of counseling service at the level nominated. The nominee must be a current member of ISCA as of October 14, 2013.

Recognition Criteria

The nominee should maintain the highest standards of personal conduct and recognize that his/her personal conduct is held up to public scrutiny. Nominees strive to be model citizens of their community as well as the school counseling community and their broader professional community. They maintain high moral standards in their personal and professional conduct.

Nominees must have been responsible for school counseling innovations or further development of programs to support the career, personal/social and academic development of all students. Nominees must demonstrate leadership, advocacy and collaboration in their work and promote equity and access to opportunities and rigorous educational experiences for all students to maximize student achievement.

Download the Counselor of the Year Nomination Form here: counselor-of-year application.doc

Send nominations to:
Clare Struck
Award/Recognition Co-Chair
1810 Clay Street
Cedar Falls, IA 50613

Or email nomination papers to clare.struck@uni.edu.  

Lifetime Achievement Award

Annually, recognition is given to an individual who has made major contributions to the school counseling profession in the state of Iowa.

The nominee must:

  • Hold a Master’s Degree in Guidance and Counseling or its equivalent
  • Have worked as a school counselor, district administrator of school counseling programs, and/or AEA school counseling consultant
  • Maintain high moral standards in their personal and professional conduct.

Criteria for recognition:

  • The nominee has been responsible for innovations in guidance and counseling programs, for providing leadership in the further development of existing guidance and counseling programs, or for performing an outstanding service to the school or community.
  • The nominee has contributed to the professional development of school counselors at the local, area, or state level.
  • The nominee has represented the interest, needs, and concerns of school counselors
  • The nominee has impacted the future of school counseling in Iowa.
  • The nominee demonstrates exemplary support and promotion of guidance and counseling services.
  • The nominee demonstrates the implementation of new/additional guidance and counseling services
  • The nominee should demonstrate the improvement of guidance and counseling services.

Procedures for nomination:

  • Complete Nomination Form
  • Letter of nomination.  This letter should contain a description of the program(s), activities, and/or contribution(s) for which the individual is being nominated (not to exceed three pages).
  • Vita (resume) for the nominee (not to exceed two pages)
  • Letters of support (not to exceed four letters).       
Download the form here: Lifetime Achievement Award Form

All award materials must be received by October 11, 2013.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software